In celebration of its 50th anniversary season, Orpheus Chamber Orchestra will bring this special program to Scottsdale only eight days after its planned Carnegie Hall debut. 


  • Hannah Benn – New Work (Orpheus Commission)   
  • Prokofiev (arr. by Pushkarev) – Sonata in F minor for Violin, Strings, and Percussion   
  • Mussorgsky (arr. by Jannina Norpoth) – Pictures at an Exhibition   

Orpheus Chamber Orchestra is a radical experiment in musical democracy, proving for 50 years what happens when exceptional artists gather with total trust in each other and faith in the creative process. Orpheus began in 1972 when cellist Julian Fifer assembled a group of New York freelancers in their early 20s to play orchestral repertoire as if it were chamber music. In that age of co-ops and communes, the idealistic Orpheans snubbed the “corporate” path of symphony orchestras and learned how to play, plan, and promote concerts as a true collective, with leadership roles rotating from the very first performance.  

7380 E. Second St.
Scottsdale, AZ 85251
Starting at $29
Starting: 07:30 PM